When life gives you cabbage… Klondike’s food blog

sauerkraut

Mr. Klondike has generously taken time out of his busy schedule to personally write the following entry:

I am particularly partial to the smell of fermented foods.

Cheese is an excellent example. I can detect it coming out of the fridge even while in deep slumber upstairs. I run down the stairs to remind my Catering Department (aka Mieko) that she needs to let me taste a new variety. The best kinds are overripe and gooey. They smell like my version of heaven.

I love miso and soy sauce, too, but Catering doesn’t let me lick much because of some problem that has to do with too much sodium. It’s her problem, though. I am totally fine with them. I’d definitely explore more if she’d let me.

Then there’s the stuff she takes out of the fridge, takes off the lid and makes a face, then throws away. Those things smell reeeeeaaaalllly intriguing! But she always says something about people standards in our household when I ask for samples and never lets me have any.

Today, I discovered a new thing, and it is made of cabbage. I have tasted cabbage stems before and didn’t approve. Boring. Strangely crunchy. I didn’t see the point.

However, this time it was wonderful. Catering told me it was called sauerkraut, and that it had partially been eaten by little bugs that break up the cabbage cells. She had made a small batch to feed herself and my friend and Agent, Bill. I would like some more, too, but not with salads, please.

Probiotics, yea!

Rating: ★★★★★

Comment: More!

_______

Note from Catering: Sorry, Klonbeast, sauerkraut is another case of too much sodium. I know because I made it. Very small samples only for you. How about some organic apple cider vinegar?

Leave a Reply

